top of page

What to Wear to Your Portrait Photo Session

It's the question I get after every booking: "But what will I wear?!" *read that in Jim Carrey's Grinch voice please and thank you*



Now I'm no stylist but I do love fashion. I could tell you EXACTLY what I like and think you would look good in but here's the thing...



If I said every girl looked perfect in a floral sun dress and every guy looked like a stud in suspenders, I'd ONLY get people in those outfits and, worse, I'd get people who aren't comfortable in those outfits showing up to our sessions with tense smiles and uncomfortable body language because that's just not them.




Step ONE to planning your outfit is to wear what's comfortable to YOU!


If you never feel comfortable in heels and they don't give you a sense of confidence, then leave those puppies AT HOME!


If you love a cozy sweater (and the weather permits it) then I'd bet that's the look for you!





NEXT is determining your color palette and patterns especially for couples and family portraits.


With patterns - less is more. For example, if you're a couple and one of you has a detailed pattern, have the other where a simple pattern or solid color. If one has a large print pattern, keep the other with a tiny pattern; be careful with this though as some small patterns don't photograph as well. Another good move is to add different textures in your clothing. This can be done with knit sweaters or shear flow fabrics.






So now you're thinking: I'm riding solo, so what so how do I know what to wear?


Awesome question! You're job pretty much begins and ends with BE YOURSELF!

If you want more direction than that than hop on Pinterest and search for outfight ideas.


If you're taking pictures with your cap and gown than I suggest finding complimenting colors and making sure your outfit isn't too bulky underneath the cape they call a gown.


If your taking pictures to go with your brand than your best move would be to wear colors that match or compliment your brand colors; as exampled above.

LASTLY, if you are my client and you just don't know what to wear - I'm here for you! Send me some pics or FaceTime me and we can pick something that you'll feel so confident in,


BOOM. Now you're one step closer to the best photo session of your life!


-TR

21 views0 comments
Etsy Shop Owner Photo-2.png

more

on the

podcast

Etsy Shop Owner Photo-3.png
Etsy Shop Owner Photo.png
bottom of page