top of page
  • Writer's pictureJosh

A Few Good Mentions: Quarantine Thoughts Part 2

If any fellow intelligent mammal actually happens to read this, I have to make it clear: I am not downplaying the amount of pain and anxiety accompanying this period. I don't even want to think about the possibility of losing loved ones. No one I know personally has been seriously affected up to this point, and for that I am thankful. Still, I feel grief for the hurting people and pray for a soon discovered cure. My parents have an old friend whose daughter is in the hospital (tested negative for Coronavirus) but her health has been steadily declining. Meanwhile the only access her parents have is through a phone call. They don’t even know what room their daughter is suffering inside because the hospital can’t risk sneaky visitors.  People are deeply hurting around the world, in personal sickness and losing family. Yet, in the midst of chaos, I want to point out some good; if we can adjust our perspectives just enough. 


Returning to ideas from my first quarantine thoughts, we previously discussed apathy, and now its partner in crime: The lines blur as apathy turns into a lack of concern for the wellness of fellow humans, which morphs into narcissism. Narcissism, catalyzed by fear, says; “Quick! Go get enough paper products to fill every room in this house!” Better for someone else to suffer than myself. Terror is on full display amongst the empty grocery store shelves and alien looks towards other scavengers, formerly known as fellow humans. 


I realize this terminology may be aggressive and I do believe these actions are certainly driven by the need (healthy or otherwise) for self-preservation. Yet, rapidly, fear and reactivity take precedence over logic. The majority of us are at some level, scared, lost, confused, anxious, bored. I suppose that’s understandable when we are suddenly trapped in individual rafts screaming down a raging river with an unknown endpoint. Now, what happens if we look at it as a planned adventure, a river rafting expedition. Just one that happens to involve staying at home. Clearly some are going to need to jump ship and swim to a different raft as the unhealthy environments and relationships they’ve been living through are magnified. Even that is a gift in itself, I hope this situation can be a catalyst for people to find the strength to do just that. For those of us blessed with a healthy home let’s look at some benefits we’ve been given in this time.


First, the obvious. There’s no more traffic (though I personally enjoy the crowded commute). This is a rare phenomenon in the land of Phoenix. I’m not in charge of vehicle accident statistics but I must assume that equates to safer roads. Not to mention that despite traffic being a predictable daily occurrence until about a month ago, many people typically decide to subject themselves to the mental anguish of frustration and road rage. Hopefully no traffic equates to some level of dissipation of stress. (Once traffic makes it’s inevitable return, know that everyone is in the same position, nobody wants to be stuck crawling along any more than you do. All we truly control are our own reactions).   


Professional sports are cancelled. Fantastic. We could use a break from worshipping the ability to throw a ball into a ring or hit it with a stick. Invent your own family sport, make a phone call, learn to play solitaire, look up some creative questions to get to know your spouse better, read a book, or several. Seriously, wise people just write down their thoughts for us to consider and adopt! Obviously this can’t go on forever and hopefully you have maintained some means of gaining income to take care of your family. Lets just look at this time as a gift rather than a burden, whatever tweaking of perspective that may require. Again, we only control what we can control. That is limited to not much more than our own thoughts. 


Another example of unique goodness: people are actually washing their hands! I have no idea what it’s like for women, but let me give some insider details on the pre-quarantine filth tank of men's public restrooms. I have secretly been running a case study inside my own head for years, primarily based on many trips through airports. I honestly do not think I would be exaggerating to say that very near 50% of men leaving a public restroom just walk straight out, no hand washing required apparently. I must also note that there has been a definitive curve to the results, meaning the older a participant in my secret study appears to be, the more likely they don’t notice the bathroom sinks provided for their use. My theory is older men have decided, with enough age, the bacteria just don’t see the point in trying. Try not to think about that when we eventually return to the world of handshakes. Thankfully right now hands, carts, counters, and everything else is cleaner than ever before. 


In all seriousness, a gift has arrived in the form of the sudden abundance of time with those we share a home with. Understandably if you live alone or with frustrating roommates this may not have the desired effect. I personally know I am grateful beyond description for extra time to talk, laugh (a whole lot), and learn how to love my wife better. My hope is that in this season we can develop vision to see the flowers growing through the concrete.  



28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Etsy Shop Owner Photo-2.png

more

on the

podcast

Etsy Shop Owner Photo-3.png
Etsy Shop Owner Photo.png
bottom of page